The best burnt cauliflower salad recipe, just in time for summer!

IMG_2958

I discovered the Saint-Laurent café in Boucherville yesterday. What a treat! From outside it felt like there was no one in the ancestral house-turned café but boy was I wrong! I could barely find a seat. The second I stepped foot inside I knew I wanted to stay there for hours and just read a book. I wasn’t alone to think that; a couple sat in a corner playing scrabble and a bunch of school girls were gossiping away. The rustic look of the place was so cozy and really inspiring for the way I want my house to look! You have to go see it for yourself.

IMG_2980

Ok so what did I treat myself to? I ordered the burnt cauliflower, kale and sesame salad from the daily specials with a passion fruit smoothie. Yummmmmy! Ok so it’s a little expensive but we’re in Boucherville are we not? The smoothie was very good but for 7$ for a small portion, I thought they were overdoing it. But the salad definetly was worth it! I just LOVE burnt cauliflower mixed with fresh ingredients like corn and kale. And cauliflower is the new “it” food. So today I’m sharing my recipe with you, inspired by my little visit to Saint-Laurent Café. Enjoy my friends and make sure to go pick up a latté or grilled cheese in Boucherville at the Saint-Laurent café soon before there starts to be a lineup outside.

IMG_2964

IMG_2963

The Best Burnt Cauliflower Salad You'll Ever Have

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cauliflower, broken into florets
  • 2 tbsp of olive oil
  • Pinch of sea salt or any salt for that matter
  • 1 red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/3 cup of fresh or thawed corn
  • 2 tbsp of honey
  • 3 tbsp of dried raisins
  • Juice from one lime
  • Handful of fresh coriander
  • 2 tbsp flaked almonds or pecan pieces
  • 1 1/2 cup of lightly chopped lettuce, baby spinach or kale (whatever you have on hand)

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 400F and set out a large baking sheet.
  2. Toss the cauliflower with the olive oil and salt. Roast for 15 mins. Stir in the red onion and corn and carry on roasting for 10-15 mins until lightly blackened.
  3. While the cauliflower is roasting, mix the honey, raisins and lime juice together.
  4. When the cauliflower is done, stir in the dressing, the coriander, the almonds and the lettuce. Serve and enjoy.

***I sometimes add a tablespoon of mayonnaise to make it creamier, it depends how I feel!***

2 comments

  1. Ema Jones · · Reply

    I would love to use this as filling in my corn tortilla for a
    yummy brunch :P

    1. Oh that sounds yummy! Great idea ;)

Leave a Reply

