Recipe // Taming my sweet tooth with baked pear crumble!

pearcrumble

Did you know that we should have no more than 6 teaspoons a day of sugar to avoid all kinds of medical problems? Well I didn’t. With just my coffee and peanut butter toast in the morning I already have over 6 teaspoons! And did you know that a can of coke is about 8 teaspoons? Thanks to my parents I don’t drink soft drinks since they were never allowed in the house.

Well while I was pregnant I started craving sweets more than ever! I have always been a salty kind of person so that was strange to me. I was eating for two so I didn’t have any bad feelings. But now that my baby is over a year old, I can’t seem to shake away the habit of having something sweet after supper. I will either eat cookies, ice cream or some chocolate along with a nice cup of green tea and a good book or magazine. It’s MY moment of the day! I’ve been trying to find ways to cut the sweets out at night without much success. So I thought why eliminate something that makes me happy? I figured the solution was to find healthy alternatives!

I found so many ideas on this site, my fave being the chocolate covered strawberries and frozen bananas! But lately I found a super easy and quick recipe for baked pear crumble. It was even approved by my mother in law who I must say is quite the dessert queen! Here is the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 2 firm but ripe pears of your choice (the bigger the better)
  • 2 tbsp instant oatmeal
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans (optional)

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 375°F.
  • Combine pecans, oatmeal, honey, butter, cinnamon and salt in bowl, and work with your fingers until just combined.
  • Cut pears in half lengthwise. Remove seeds and core to create a hallow. Place cut side up in a baking dish.
  • Divide crumble into 4 portions and fill each pear half. Bake for 25 minutes or until the crumble has browned. Serve with ice cream or a dollop of Greek yogurt.

Thank you Today’s Parent for making me discover this great recipe!

Leave a Reply

