Food // Chocolate covered blueberries, a pure summer delight!

I went to Costco this week with my boyfriend and he said I was acting like a child because I wanted him to buy everything. Ok he was a little right…I did want to buy every cheese in sight! But there`s one thing I absolutely couldn`t leave the Costco without and that was my box of chocolate-covered blueberries! I would`ve thrown a tantrem if my boyfriend had taken them out of the basket! Oh and I probably would`ve hitchhiked a ride home too…lol.

But seriously, chocolate covered blueberries are my once-a-year treat since they only sell them in the summer.  I was having a few this morning for breakfast (I`m having fruit so don`t make me feel guilty ok!) when I realized that it`s probably so simple to make at home and that I could indulge in them all year long! Why didn`t I think of it before? Here is a recipe I found on Allrecipes.com and I can`t wait to try them as soon as my box is empty.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tablespoon shortening
  • 2 cups fresh blueberries, rinsed and dried
 

Directions

  1. Melt chocolate in a glass bowl in the microwave, or in a metal bowl set over a pan of simmering water. Stir frequently until melted and smooth. Remove from the heat, and stir in the shortening until melted.
  2. Line a baking sheet with waxed paper. Add blueberries to the chocolate, and stir gently to coat. Spoon small clumps of blueberries onto the waxed paper. Refrigerate until firm, about 10 minutes. Store in a cool place in an airtight container. 

Enjoy!

3 comments

  1. Actually, you could argue that chocolate IS healthy because it comes from cacao beans. ;-) But seriously, these look delicious. I’ll have to try this sometime.

    1. Totally true! I think I`ll coat them with dark chocolate…even better for our health :)

  2. […] Food // Chocolate covered blueberries, a pure summer delight! (stuffcynloves.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

