Food // Fresh salmon tartare for summer!

I`ve been obsessed with salmon tartare for the past year. It`s light, tasty and melts in your mouth. The picture above was taken at a restaurant in old Terrebonne and I thought the presentation was perfect for summer. I loved the orchid they served it with (that I ate by the way!). Recently I decided to make some at home to surprise my boyfriend and he was delighted! Here is the recipe that I used:

Ingredients:

  • 75 and 100 g of salmon for sushi (without skin) per person. For the main course, provide 150 to 200 g per person.
  • A bit of chopped red onion
  • A few chopped capers
  • A bit of finely grated lemon zest
  • A drizzle of extra virgin olive oil
  • Fresh herbs to taste (thyme, chives…)
  • Sea salt and freshly ground pepper

Preperation:

Using a knife, remove the sides of the salmon and brown edges if necessary. Cut the salmon fillet into tiny pieces, place in a bowl and add all the ingredients of tartare. Adjust seasoning to taste.

I use a small measuring cup  to add the tartare in a circular pile on each plate and I serve it with slices of toasted french bread.

* Note: I add a little bit of dijon mustard and put more capers in my tartare.

Thank you À la di Stasio for this wonderful recipe.

2 comments

  1. Sean Breslin · · Reply

    Looks delicious!

  2. That looks so pretty! I hope it tasted as good as it looked!

Leave a Reply

