DIY Food // Great vanilla syrup for your coffee!

This morning I woke up with a craving for a Starbucks Vanilla latté and in Québec Canada where I live you can`t find a Starbucks coffee shop on every corner. Nope, instead we have Tim Hortons. And if you`ve ever been to Canada before you must certainly have been to Tim Hortons. A few years ago a couchesurfer from Germany stayed on my couch for a night and I took him to Tim Hortons for coffee and bagels the enxt day. It was love at first sight…or should I say love at first taste! From then on he kept sending me postcards from his trip around the world telling me about how much he craved Tim Hortons!

Well as much as I love Tim Hortons, they don`t sell real espressos, lattés and cappuccinos. So this morning I had an idea, I would make my own vanilla syrup! If you don`t have an espresso machine at home I suggest you head to Ikea to buy a $10 espresso machine you put on the stove like the one I have at home. It really works!

In my search for a recipe I discovered a great DIY fashion and food blog that had exactly what I was looking for…oh and I love her title! Check her out at A Beautiful Mess Blog

To make the vanilla syrup you will need: 2 cups water, 2 cups sugar and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (the clear kind is much preferred here). In a small pot heat your water and sugar over low/medium heat , stirring constantly until it boils and the sugar has dissolved. Now stir in your vanilla extract and pour into your dispenser.

If you`re not feeling overly creative you can store your syrup in the fridge in a closed bottle or tupperware. But if you`re feeling like you need to exercise your creativeness then pour your syrup in empty bottles and put decorative tags on them. Then enjoy or offer them to loved ones who love putting a little flavour in their coffee!

some text and photos by A Beautiful Mess Blog (check out the blog for more syrup recipes)

2 comments

  1. […] and make ice cubes out of it so that your ice coffee won`t be as watery. Oh and add a dash of vanilla syrup or fleur de sel as a treat! […]

  2. […] DIY Food // Great vanilla syrup for your coffee! (stuffcynloves.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

